Pie!

I arrived at The Forsaken Inn courtesy of one of Candaith’s horses and was delighted to find a kinmate, Iliraen, there. We had not met before so we took some time exchanging news of mutual acquaintances. To my delight, it seems Iliraen is something of a pie expert and she insisted on giving me some excellent pies to sample. What a delight, I need not remind you of a hobbit’s love of pie!

Now everyone loves a sweet pie especially a good apple pie or a nice blackberry tart. But the real hobbit love is for a savoury pie. And the pies Iliraen gave me were the best I ever had. A wonderful crust (my favourite bit) with a juicy yet firm inside. This is important because it allows the eating of the pie with one hand.

Why is this important? Well, Iliraen told me a story of a kinmate who, for the sake of argument, we shall call Nutkin (because that’s his name). Nutkin was a cheery hobbit much given to the good things in life. Especially the eating of pies apparently. The story is that the kin were raiding into a dangerous dungeon someplace I’ve never heard of and they encountered a large group of enemies. Nutkin’s task in the group was to heal the others but it seems that he failed in this task and the group was utterly defeated. The story is that he was too busy and distracted at the time by a particularly splendid pie.

I find this unlikely as surely a good hobbit can eat pie and heal at the same time? Especially if he has to hand one of the delicious pies baked by Iliraen which, as I said, can easily be eaten one handed. I suspect Nutkin’s mistake was to choose a pie filled with gravy and possibly with some additional accoutrements that then required a knife and fork to eat. Rather like this example,

I’m not sure the kin have entirely forgiven Nutkin but I can understand his being distracted by a pie – what hobbit wouldn’t be? And, in the interests of fairness, I offer Nutkin the chance to present his side of the story.

Still, it could have been worse, he could have adopted the Twobeers approach to pie eating – take the steaming hot pie out of the oven. Tape the pie to the wall. Tie hands behind your back and charge face first, mouth wide open into the pie. A true Dwarf Guardian utterly lacking in finesse!

Well, this is making me hungry so I shall leave you with my old gran’s recipe for Hobbit Pie. Enjoy.

2 each pie shell (9 inch) deep dish, unbaked
2 large eggs beaten
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese grated
1 1/2 pounds mushrooms sliced
2 cups onions finely chopped
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup cottage cheese
1/4 cup parsley leaves chopped
1/2 cup white wine dry

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Saute mushrooms until soft, then add onions, and cook over medium heat until onions are translucent.

Take mixture off heat, add flour, then wine, mixing well.

Add all other ingredients and salt and pepper to taste.

Pour into crust and cover with lattice top and bake 40-45 minutes.

About Keligamer

Lotro player, Medieval history student, geek
This entry was posted in LOTRO. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pie!

  1. Björn says:

    Well done. Now I’m hungry! 🙂

  2. Birko says:

    I’m going to make it, once it’s wise enough to fire up my oven.
    The lattice top is interesting.
    Lattice pastry lid?
    As in a woven textured pastry lid? I’ve only seen that in desserts, where the weaves are easier to do with sweet pastry. Doesn’t puff as much.
    Can it work with a savoury dough?

  3. Carica says:

    Mmmmmm, pie…..

  4. Pingback: A Bobbit Named Blue | In the Kitchen with Blue – Mushroom Pie

Leave a Reply

